The Chakras: A Beginner’s Guide

The three main energy pathways (or nadis) of the body connect the seven chakras. These are Sushumna, the spine; Ida, the feminine, cooling lunar current; and Pingala, the masculine, flaming solar pathway. The two nadis start on either side at the base chakra and then cross each other at every chakra point. They merge at the third eye.

It is important to maintain the balance of your chakras to ensure that energy flows through your body.

Our yoga practice helps us align, balance, and flow these energy centers.

Muladhara Chakra

The base chakra is the first chakra and is related to our survival, physical identity, and material needs.

In your practice: Feel deeply rooted in each pose. Connect to your feet or other parts of your body that are on the ground beneath you. Feel self-awareness and stability. Most importantly, feel present.

Tree Pose is a great way to bring you into the moment, feel rooted and safe, and ground yourself.

Svadisthana chakra

The sacral chakra is related to our emotions, sexual desire, and emotional stability.

Your practice: Learn to add fluidity and “go with the flow” into your practice.

Freestyle your Cat/Cow or Dancing Warrior. Or anything that makes you feel good at the moment. You will be able to connect with your emotions and desires and discover your creative spark.

Manipura Chakra

The solar plexus chakra is the center of our self-awareness and power. It is also where we manifest and achieve.

In your practice, Imagine a small ball of sunlight in your middle and radiate strength, confidence, and power through your entire body.

Trikonasana, or the Triangle Pose (also known as Warrior II), is a great way to feel your power radiate throughout your entire body. You can also handle your power by doing core work or any other activity that generates heat and fire.

Anahata Chakra

The heart chakra is also called the “heart chakra” and is linked to love, forgiveness, and compassion on all levels.

In your Practice: Find love and passion towards your practice and your body and all it can do for you. On your mat, be your best friend.

In all backbends, let your heart and true self shine out to the world.

Visshuda Chakra

The throat chakra is associated with communication and self-expression.

Add chants to Your practice: When chanted while doing Sun Salutations, the Surya Namaskara Mantras can be very powerful.

Your poses can help you express yourself. Fill them with intention and expression. Use your practice to bring life to whatever you are experiencing in the present moment.

Ajna Chakra

The third eye chakra is the center of our intuition, wisdom, and inner awareness.

In your Practice: At the beginning of each practice, set an intention to go beyond the physical. Listen to your body throughout your training and practice from a deeper place than the physical.

Tune in to yourself and your inner wisdom during your meditation.

Sahasrara Chakra

The crown chakra is the connection between our higher self and the spiritual realms.

In your practice: Surrendering to what is. Savasana is the best place to tune in and heal this chakra. Come to a place where you are completely surrendered and can be at the end of practice.

Becoming your breath, your relaxation, bliss, stillness, truth, and your highest self.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *